Announcing Games Britannia Live!

I made a post towards the end of last year regarding my efforts to find supporters and backers for my idea for Games Britannia Live! which ended in resignation that it was not to be. At the eleventh hour, not long after I’d pressed the “publish” button on the blog post I received an e-mail offering support from Tom Kenyon (@MrTKenyon) at NESTA.

I met Tom in 2012, worked with him on the Scouts Game Design badge and have followed his tireless efforts since then encouraging digital makers via the various funding streams that he influences at NESTA. I’m very grateful to Tom and NESTA for showing faith in me, and enabling me to announce that:

Games Britannia Live! will be a public extension to the multi-award winning videogame education festival running over the weekend of 28 – 29 June 2014 in Sheffield, Great Britain.

Hosted across several iconic city-centre venues, including the Winter Gardens, Tudor Square and Millennium Galleries, Games Britannia Live! is a fun-filled and free family-friendly festival of games invention, creativity and play. It celebrates Britain’s and Sheffield’s rich videogame heritage; past, present and future.

They’ll be a range of hands-on, drop-in activities, hacks and interactive workshops as well as one or two very special events. They’ll be something that everyone can be involved in, and I hope as many people as possible will come along.

Keep checking the website for more information, and I’ll do my best to confirm the activity schedule as soon as possible. In the meantime, I’m also sticking out a press release to invite game makers, developers, publishers to come along and showcase their latest creations.

The website is here:

http://live.gamesbritannia.com

Leave a Reply

